A Very Goode Consumer Target

As part of the A Really Goode Job project, we are all very focused on twittering, blogging and social media. However, it is important to keep in mind that social media is a part of the marketing mix, aimed at enhancing strategic efforts and reaching a desired consumer demographic. As a career business and marketing person, I am always analyzing businesses and the success of their marketing efforts. As I started working on the A Really Goode Job project, I asked myself who the ideal target demographic is for any winery in general, and Murphy Goode in particular.

Every company wants to establish a life-long relationship with a customer, to ensure that it can derive the most lifetime value out of each customer, after having spent money to get this person to buy for the first time. The faster you can make your consumer a loyalist and the longer you can keep him / her engaged with the brand, the higher the lifetime value. An adult beverage company, thus, wants to convert at an age as close to 21 as possible. Let’s examine the drinking habits of kids around that age. After having gone through college, they are used to drinking cheap beer and taking shots of Jager. Wine is not part of fraternity parties usually, and most of these kids feel intimidated by wine after they graduate from college and move on to their first job and first “adult” apartment. At that point, the consumer, especially male, is not thinking of wine as a beverage of choice. To get the most market share and the most customer lifetime value, Murphy Goode should find a way to attract this newly-out-of-college demographic, with a special sub-segment of young men.

I have put together this mock commercial to demonstrate what an ideal advertising concept would look like. At that age, a young man is interested in having a date with a young lady turn out well. Because young ladies have a stronger connection to wine at that age, she is more likely to drink wine on a date, and the young man is interested in impressing her with ordering a wine that will please both her and him. This is the perfect positioning for Murphy Goode: the wine that guarantees a date that is as smooth as the wine. Remember, for a goode date, make it Murphy Goode!

Please enjoy the video and leave comments!

P.S. This post is all about messaging (or “Promotions” in the 4 Ps of Marketing). I dealt with Placement in a previous post. As far as product and price, I think Murphy Goode is well-positioned to appeal to this demographic, as the wines maintain an extremely high quality-to-price ratio, and are an “affordable luxury” suitable to a recent grad’s pocketbook. As far as media through which to reach this hard-to-reach demographic the online space is definitely the first place I would reach for.

Published in: on June 15, 2009 at 4:11 pm  Comments (13)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://goodewinejourney.wordpress.com/2009/06/15/a-very-goode-consumer-target/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

13 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. […] Today I am revisiting my “5 reasons why you should vote for me” series and putting reason #2 out there. So here it goes.. In addition to my reach and command of social tools, I am a holistic marketer and business person. I have been studying marketing my whole life, having obtained a BS in Commerce from the McIntire School of Commerce at UVa and an MBA with a marketing focus from Robert H. Smith School of Business (you can view my LinkedIn profile here). That means very little, but what’s important is that I have a vast understanding of the marketing mix, and how it fits into operations of the company. On this blog, I have started and will continue discussing issues pertaining not only to social media in wine, and Murphy Goode in particular, but also how social media efforts will fit into the overall marketing approach. Check out my posts on distribution and targeting and messaging.  […]

  2. […] Holistic Marketing – Don’t Tweet in a Vacuum Today I am revisiting my “5 reasons why you should vote for me” series and putting reason #2 out there. So here it goes.. In addition to my reach and command of social tools, I am a holistic marketer and business person. I have been studying marketing my whole life, having obtained a BS in Commerce from the McIntire School of Commerce at UVa and an MBA with a marketing focus from Robert H. Smith School of Business (you can view my LinkedIn profile here). That means very little, but what’s important is that I have a vast understanding of the marketing mix, and how it fits into operations of the company. On this blog, I have started and will continue discussing issues pertaining not only to social media in wine, and Murphy Goode in particular, but also how social media efforts will fit into the overall marketing approach. Check out my posts on distribution and targeting and messaging.  […]

  3. […] a really good time is key. I do not take myself too seriously, and as you can see from my “Very Bad Date” videos, I enjoy laughing, enjoying my time with friends, and do not hesitate to make a fool […]

  4. Hi Maria,

    All salient points. (I just wanted to use that word.)

    Dating is certainly an area where impressing the person sitting across from you always comes in handy. Now we just have to make sure all those singles are going to restaurants where they serve Murphy-Goode wines! 😉

    • Absolutely, Todd! Which is why the issues of distribution are very closely tied to issues of promotion. Murphy Goode, given their new skyrocketing level of awareness, must take steps to ensure wider distribution. To be honest, I had a hard time finding MG in NYC; I wrote a discussion about this on this blog. Awareness is great, but if you don’t have the product in stores, your revenue isn’t going to go up. I mean, people can still shop online, but that takes the immediate gratification factor away.

      Cheers!

  5. This blog was… how do you say it? Relevant!!
    Finally I have found something that helped me. Many thanks!

  6. I like what you guys are usually up too. This kind of clever work
    and reporting! Keep up the fantastic works guys
    I’ve added you guys to my blogroll.

  7. シャネルは、服の
    革命的な新しいタイプのを提供した

  8. Leading designers like Chanel and Givenchy have launched
    substantial sunglass collections. Though the black-on-black
    is fundamentally a traditional search for these frames, incorporating colour provides them character &
    persona.

  9. 持っているいくつか保持誰ものうち戻る手術によって取得ピラティス、ストレッチまたは仕事のバランスをとる前方泡ローラー。場合、のようなを着用する非常にとパンツ、非常にさえないフェア島のセーターと整形外科ウェッジヒール、その場合すべてとして変換。

  10. Wheel chairs are certainly more suitable, because they offer more leg room and it
    appears as though they are stylish and edgy
    in appearance. This is because anything that deals
    with acceleration and gaining high speeds are removed from the affected
    areas.
    One way of life.

  11. It’s really a nice and helpful piece of information.

    I’m glad that you simply shared this helpful info with us.
    Please stay us informed like this. Thanks for sharing.

  12. social media icons flat

    A Very Goode Consumer Target | Social Wine


Leave a Reply

